- ALMOS RULESET
1000.1a. Some enchantments have the subtype “Territory.” When a territory enters the battlefield, the player controlling it has an opportunity to have a creature occupy it which is defined by occupation rules (see 1000.2)
1000.2a. A Territory enchantment can be occupied by a creature permanent.
1000.2b. Each creature may only occupy one Territory at any given time.
1000.2c. Territory enchantments that have a creature occupying them have the occupied status which may activate some triggered abilities on the card. They may also have activated abilities which require the occupied status as part of their conditions.
1000.2d. When a creature permanent is occupying a territory it has the occupying status which may activate some triggered abilities on the card. They may also have activated abilities which require the occupying status as part of their conditions.
1000.2e. When a Territory enchantment enters the battlefield, its controller may choose a creature permanent to occupy it from among creature permanents they control that do not have the occupying status.
1000.2f. Whenever an occupying creature dies, is put into exile, or is returned to its owner’s hand, the Territory that was occupied is no longer occupied and its controller may choose a new creature permanent that they control to occupy it.
1000.3. Battlefield State
1000.3a. The Battlefield State provides a blanket, battlefield-wide effect. The Battlefield State can be: empty, temporary, or current.
1000.3b. When the Battlefield State is empty it functions as the default battlefield, with no special effects.
1000.3c. The Battlefield State may be changed temporarily, if this occurs, the effect should be worded ‘until end of turn’ and the Battlefield State reverts to its current state if it had one or empty if it did not.
1000.3d. If a permanent is on the field, it may alter the current Battlefield State. The current Battlefield State acts as a replacement effect for all of the abilities listed in it.
1000.3e. If a permanent would enter the battlefield and change the current Battlefield State, it does so and the previous Battlefield State ends.
1000.3f. When a permanent affecting the Battlefield State leaves the battlefield, the Battlefield State either: a) if another permanent on the battlefield or temporary effect is attempting to affect the Battlefield State, its ability becomes the current Battlefield State in order of temporary effects followed by the most recent permanent played, with the most recent permanent affecting the Battlefield State; or b) the Battlefield State becomes empty if there are no permanents or temporary abilities affecting it.
1000.3g. Battlefield-Statebound is a keyword on a card that indicates whether or not that side of the doublefaced permanent is bound to a specific Battlefield State or lack of a specific Battlefield State. The reminder text following the keyword will tell players whether they need to transform the card.
1000.4. List of Battlefield States
1000.4a. Daylight. While the battlefield state is Daylight, menace and deathtouch have no effect. Abilities and ability conditions that require Daylight may be used.
1000.4b. Rainy. While the battlefield state is Rainy. Any conditions of abilities or spells that require the Rainy state are active or can be activated. Haste and trample have no effect.
1000.4c. Nighttime. While the battlefield state is Nighttime, first strike and vigilance have no effect. Abilities and ability conditions that require Nighttime may be used.
1000.4d. Heat Wave. When the battlefield state is Heat Wave, hexproof and trample have no effect. Abilities and ability conditions that require Heat Wave may be used.
1000.4e. Windy. When the battlefield state is Windy, negate the effects of flying and lifelink. Abilities and ability conditions that require Windy may be used.
1000.5. List of Battlefield-Statebound
1000.5a. Daylightbound. At the beginning of each upkeep, as long as the Battlefield State is Daylight, keep this side face up. Otherwise, transform this permanent.
1000.5b. Nighttimebound. At the beginning of each upkeep, as long as the Battlefield State is Nighttime, keep this side face up. Otherwise, transform this permanent.
1000.5c. Rainybound. At the beginning of each upkeep, as long as the Battlefield State is Rainybound, keep this side face up. Otherwise, transform this permanent.
1000.5d. Heatwavebound. At the beginning of each upkeep, as long as the Battlefield State is Heatwavebound, keep this side face up. Otherwise, transform this permanent.
1000.5e. Windybound. At the beginning of each upkeep, as long as the Battlefield State is Windy, keep this side face up. Otherwise, transform this permanent.
1000.5f. Not Xbound. At the beginning of each upkeep, as long as the Battlefield State is not X, keep this side face up. Otherwise, transform this permanent.
1000.6a. Discipline is a triggered ability. “Discipline” means “Whenever you cast a x/y/z spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.” where x, y, and z may represent separate types (ex: Discipline instant/sorcery triggers whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, or discipline instant/enchantment/creature triggers whenever you cast an instant, enchantment, or creature spell.)
1000.6b. If a creature has multiple instances of discipline, each triggers separately and only triggers if the specific triggered types are. (ex: If you cast an instant spell and a creature has ‘discipline instant/sorcery’ and ‘discipline instant/creature’ then the creature gets +1/+1 for each instance. But if you cast a sorcery spell, it only gets +1/+1.)
1000.6c. A creature may have ‘discipline x/y/z N’ where N is a number. In this instance, the creature gets +N/+N until end of turn for each triggered instance.
1000.7a. Mark is a static ability.
1000.7b. Damage dealt to a player by a source with mark is treated as normal damage, unlike infect (see rule 702.90.)
1000.7c. Damage dealt to a creature by a source with mark isn’t marked on that creature. Rather, if the creature isn’t already marked, it causes that source’s controller to put that many -1/-1 counters on that creature and that creature becomes marked. See rule 120.3.
1000.7d. If a permanent leaves the battlefield before an effect causes it to deal damage, its last known information is used to determine whether it had mark.
1000.7e. The infect rules function no matter what zone an object with infect deals damage from.
1000.7f. Multiple instances of infect on the same object are redundant.
1000.7g. A permanent with -1/-1 counters on it from mark damage is considered marked.
1000.8. Were creatures
1000.8a. Werecreatures are a subtype of creature that uses the format of were and ends with another creature subtype found in magic (ex: werewolf, werecat)
1000.8b. Werecreatures can be referred to in card text as a separate subset of creatures that have the were prefix somewhere in their creature subtypes.